Party Primary results in Kibera

Lack of ballot boxes and papers, rowdy youth, tear gas, demonstrations, burning tyres and fights characterize party nominations in Kibra and Langatta constituencies.

After the two day nomination melee in Kibra constituency, the  political parties have declared their  parliamentary and County assembly results. The Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) declared  Kenneth Okoth the winner.   United Democratic Forum (UDF)   will be represented by Ndura Waruinge while James Sigar will fly the Labour Party of Kenya LPK ticket.

In Langatta constituency, United Republican Party URP will be represented by Nixon Korir. Jacob Dundos was controversially awarded the ODM certificate though Joash Olum was declared the winner. Andrew Kibe will carry the UDF flag. Stanley Livondo won The National Alliance (TNA) primaries without any campaign, though he had already decamped to UDF, and awarded the senatorial ticket.

In Laini Saba ward, ODM certificate was awarded to Cecilia Ayot, though nominations did not take place. David Kitavi was clinched the Wiper Democratic Party ticket, while James Kiarie will represent TNA.  In Sarangombe, ODM will be represented by Owino K’Otieno, though his certificate is contested. Other parties are not popular in this ward.

In Lindi ward, ODM is the only party which had released its results.  Obenge, a security guard clinched the ticket, while in Makina, the outgoing Lindi councilor Babu Adams clinched the ODM ticket. Aidaar will represent URP.  Lindi, Makina, Sarangombe,  Laini Saba and Golf course/Kenyatta wards constitute Kibra constituency, with the first four being part of the slum.

In Nyaya Highrise ward,  ODM  declared Maurice Akuk  the winner with Jacktone Kaparo as second.  Although Charles Deya is claimed to have been awarded the ODM  ticket in a controversial way. Deya is also alleged to have decamped to Wiper and awarded a direct nomination.  Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) will be represented by Ochwacho Ojango. Tom Ndeche will carry the UDF flag while Wachira will carry the TNA ticket. Kaparo has since decamped to Ford Kenya, and awarded a direct nomination too.

In Mugumoini, the incumbent councilor Alex Mberia will fly the ODM ticket.

The two constituencies equally experienced more drama during the nomination.ODM and UDF did not conduct nominations in Laini Saba and Mugumoini wards respectively. TNA postponed its nomination on 17th due to lack of proper preparation, though they pointed an accusing finger to IEBC for availing the voter registration list late.

About Douglas Namale

Douglas Namale is the founder of Community Media in Kibera, Managing editor of Mtaani Insight ( and a Mapper at Map Kibera Trust. He is a former managing editor of Kibera Journal ( and an ICT literacy activist particularly among the youth in the slums and rural areas. He is also a facilitator in Community Media, good governance, active citizenship, Open space technology, Access to information and Freedom of expression. He has presented his work in different global platforms including, ICT4D 2010 in London, Broadcast and Film Africa Conference in Nairobi in 2011 among others. He believes an informed citizen is an empowered society. I strongly believe the ICT tools and citizen journalism will form part of 3rd liberalization in Kenya.
This entry was posted in Elections, Insecurity, politics, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *